Girls Soccer

Southern California Regional Championships

through 2016

A Brief Historical Timeline

1987-88:  Section’s advisory committee request for the Southern California playoffs was rejected by State CIF.

2007-08:  Inaugural season for the Southern California regional playoffs.

2007-08:  Section championships can no longer end in a tie because of the Southern California regional playoffs.

2014-15:  High seed hosts the regional final game and two divisions are added, division IV and V.

There is no state championship because some of the northern sections play soccer in the fall season due to inclement weather in the winter. 

All-Time SoCal Titles

Titles, School, Last

5Cathedral, 2016

1  Bishop's, 2008

1  Torrey Pines, 2011

1  Coronado, 2011

1  Westview, 2014

1  Francis Parker, 2014

1  La Costa Canyon


Consecutive SoCal Titles

Titles, School, Years

4Cathedral, 2013-current

SoCal Title Appearances

App., School, Last appearance

5Cathedral, 2016

3  Francis Parker, 2014

2  La Jolla, 2011

2  Westview, 2014

2  La Costa Canyon, 2015

1  Bishop's, 2008

1  Torrey Pines, 2011

1  Coronado, 2011

1  Carlsbad, 2015


Southern California Regional Final Appearances

by CIF-San Diego Section Schools


Year, School, Result

2016Cathedral, Division I Champion

2015  Carlsbad, Division I Finalist

2015  La Costa Canyon, Division I Champion

2015  Cathedral, Division III Champion

2014  Westview, Division I Champion

2014  Cathedral, Division II Champion

2014  La Costa Canyon, Division II Finalist

2014  Francis Parker, Division III Champion

2013  Westview, Division I Finalist

2013  Cathedral, Division II Champion

2011  Torrey Pines, Division I Champion

2011  Coronado, Division II Champion

2011  La Jolla, Division II Finalist

2010  Francis Parker, Division III Finalist

2009  La Jolla, Division II Finalist

2009  Francis Parker, Division III Finalist

2008  Cathedral, Division II Champion

2008  Bishop's, Division III Champion

SoCal Regional Titles

Division I

2016Santa Margarita (Rancho SM)

2015  Santiago (Corona)

2014  Westview (San Diego)

2013El Camino Real (Woodland Hills)

2012Aliso Niguel (Aliso Niguel

2011  Torrey Pines (San Diego)

2010  Esperanza (Anaheim)  

2009  San Clemente

2008  Wilson (Long Beach)

SoCal Regional Titles

Division II

2016Cathedral (San Diego)

2015  La Costa Canyon (Carlsbad)

2014  Cathedral (San Diego)

2013  Cathedral (San Diego)

2012  Santa Margarita (Rancho S.M.)

2011  Coronado

2010  Granite Hills (Apple Valley) 

2009  Harvard-Westlake (N. Hollywood) 

2008  Cathedral (San Diego) 

SoCal Regional Titles

Division III

2016 South Hills

2015  Cathedral (San Diego)

2014  Francis Parker (San Diego)

2013Poly (Pasadena)

2012Oaks Christian (Westlake Village)

2011  Oaks Christian (Westlake Village) 

2010  Flintridge Sacred Heart (La Canada) 

2009  Desert Christian (Lancaster) 

2008  Bishop's (La Jolla)

SoCal Regional Titles

Division IV

2016La Mirada

2015  Maranatha (Pasadena)

SoCal Regional Titles

Division V

2016Grace Brethren

2015  Sierra Canyon (Chatsworth)