Boys Soccer

Southern California Regional Championships

through 2016

A Brief Historical Timeline

1987-88:  Section’s advisory committee request for the Southern California playoffs was rejected by State CIF.

2007-08:  Inaugural season for the Southern California regional playoffs.

2007-08:  Section championships can no longer end in a tie and have co-champs because of the Southern California regional playoffs.

2014-15:  High seed hosts the regional final game and two divisions are added, division IV and V.


There is no state championship because some of the northern sections play soccer in the fall season due to inclement weather in the winter. 

All-Time SoCal Titles

Titles, School, Last

1  Mater Dei, 2009

1  St. Augustine, 2012

1  Southwest (SD), 2014

1  Chula Vista, 2015

1  Coronado, 2015

1Mission Hills, 2016

Consecutive SoCal Titles

Titles, School, Years


SoCal Title Appearances

App., School, Last appearance

3Cathedral, 2016

1  Poway, 2008

1  Mater Dei, 2009

1  Francis Parker, 2011

1  St. Augustine, 2012

1  Carlsbad, 2014

1  Southwest (SD), 2014

1  Chula Vista, 2015

1  Coronado, 2015

1Mission Hills, 2016

Southern California Regional Final Appearances

by CIF-San Diego Section Schools


Year, School, Result

2016Cathedral, Division I Finalist

2016Mission Hills, Division III Champion

2015  Chula Vista, Division I Champion

2015  Coronado, Division IV Champion

2014  Carlsbad, Division I Finalist

2014  Southwest (San Diego), Division II Champion

2012  St. Augustine, Division II Champion

2011  Francis Parker, Division III Finalist

2009  Cathedral, Division II Finalist

2009  Mater Dei, Division III Champion

2008  Poway, Division I Finalist

2008  Cathedral, Division II Finalist

SoCal Regional Titles

Division I

2016Loyola (Los Angeles)

2015  Chula Vista

2014  Loyola (Los Angeles)

2013El Rancho (Pico Rivera)


2011  San Clemente

2010  Paramount

2009  El Camino Real (Woodland Hills)

2008  Santa Monica  

SoCal Regional Titles

Division II

2016South (Bakersfield)

2015  Sylmar

2014  Southwest (San Diego)

2013  San Jacinto

2012  St. Augustine (San Diego) 

2011  Santa Barbara

2010  Corona del Mar (Newport Beach) 

2009  St. Francis (La Canada) 

2008  Santa Margarita (Rancho S.M.) 

SoCal Regional Titles

Division III

2016Mission Hills (San Marcos)

2015  Cathedral (Los Angeles)

2014  St. Margaret's (San Juan Capistrano)

2013Animo Leadership (Inglewood)

2012Crossroads (Santa Monica)

2011  Salesian (Los Angeles) 

2010  Salesian (Los Angeles) 

2009  Mater Dei (Chula Vista) 

2008  Salesian (Los Angeles)

SoCal Regional Titles

Division IV


2015  Coronado

SoCal Regional Titles

Division V

2016Desert Mirage

2015  West Shores (Salton City)